Special: Do You Go By Reviews To Decide?

Published September 17, 2014 by Amanda B. Greene

I’ve “evolved” over the years to use reviews as the main factor between say going to the theater to see a movie or just waiting until it comes out to rent. Or sometimes, I may not watch a movie at all because the average score is so low. This is just one example. I was thinking about this as I’m looking back at some of my decisions that had mostly mixed results.

Last thought when it comes to movies: do people really take the time to search ratings and think about them? I think that the majority of people could care less about movie critics and what they have to say. The recent movies by the director Michael Bay, like Transformers and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, were rated terribly by websites like Rotten Tomatoes and yet they were box office hits. Granted, they are not always right (one that jumps at me is “The Series Of Unfortunate Events” (great film)) and they probably have vastly different opinions, but all kinds of critics do have the experience and qualifications to justify. That’s what I want to start off on to make a point.

Do you read reviews for everything, or only for certain things? Or do you just go by your gut feeling (or however you may describe it)? I think this is kind of interesting to hear what everyone says on the matter. Personally, most people I know or see online don’t use them at all for anything it seems, even though they may agree with critics after the fact when it’s too late. This fact sounds odd and incorrect to me… you think it would be the other way around.

When I look around (almost always online because who still reads the newspaper?), I only go to websites that I know and trust to test out and grade all the parts that make up the product. For video games, this can generate a long list, so you may not get accurate results if you just click on a random link. Usually the biggest names, like GameInformer (I know I mention this site a lot, but it’s one of the best), IGN, GameSpot, Destructoid, and so on are the ones you should mostly check out for great reviews, but there are others if you dig deep enough. You just need to find the one that works for you or if you already did that’s good.

Just as a movie critic has to watch the entire movie to rightfully judge, so must any other critics in their respectful fields. One needs to think through as he or she plays through the whole game, sometimes more than once. All the components, such as all the various modes and stories, have to be considered into the total. Again, they may hate something that you may enjoy, but they have their reasons behind them; I admit I occasionally have difficulty looking past some hype or fan craze I may have for a particular company or franchise. The reviewer should mainly focus on the one game, but sometimes it’s hard not to compare or perhaps he or she must go through previous titles of that series to see any changes in quality. Please at least respect the work that critics do just like any other profession.

That’s all I have to say. Please comment down below to tell me what you think! I’ll be back for more next week! 🙂

