Fun: Indicators That You’re A Gamer

Published November 5, 2014 by Amanda B. Greene

We all have our quirks, but are there any common ones that show that you’re a gamer? I personally have a lot of quirkiness like how I tend to daydream often. Once you start thinking about it, it makes you wonder what you may do sometimes unintentionally. While daydreaming doesn’t necessarily make you a gamer, there are other signs that could indicate your geeky nature.

Let’s look through at some signals…

10. Always moving your body – never sitting or standing still

I can’t sit or stand still at all. I mostly move my hands around hoping for something to do most of the time. It’s not cellular anxiety since I have yet to own a cell phone. Jokingly, I feel like my thumb twitch for an analog stick. How about you? Can you stay still?

9. Sketching/Doodling/Drawing

I like to draw pictures of characters and symbols, often from video games. It’s just something fun that I enjoy doing as a hobby of mine; eventually I would like to get into painting and sculpting when I have the chance. With the life of a college student, I don’t have much time to fit stuff in, but I managed to draw this recently:

IMG_2725

Β There is this ridiculous, mostly stupid but funny YouTube video called “Old Greg” that I decided to draw for laughs.

8. Usernames, Passwords, Avatars, and Desktop Backgrounds

Recently, I’ve pictures of Super Smash Bros. 4 on my computer as both my background and an avatar. I don’t really have usernames and passwords associated with any particular video games though; a lot of friends will have the names of their favorite characters or franchises as their profiles. It’s interesting to see what people come up with.

7. Your web searches

I do look up other things during my off-time, but I do like to regularly check out what’s new in the video game industry. Watching trailers and reading various articles like reviews is a good way to pass the time. It gets me excited for what is to come. Off-topic – Has anyone watched the new Marvel trailer for the next Avengers? Good, isn’t it? Anyways, looking at through your web history can tell a lot about yourself.

6. What do you dress up as for Halloween?

Since last Friday was Halloween, did you dress up for tonight and if so, what were you? I dressed up as a princess, which is more or less tied to gaming in different ways. There are some really good cosplayers out there, take the time to look around. E3 is one of the biggest gaming conventions filled with awesome costumes. It’s entertaining to walk around in a dress, even if nearly everyone else doesn’t. πŸ™‚

5. Like 8-bit music or other iconic tunes?

All the sudden, while dozing off in the lounge, I wake up at the sound of someone’s phone ringing the Ocarina Of Time. I instantly knew what I was hearing. I imagine everyone can mostly recognize their favorite songs without any hints. There are of course others that are more popular like some of the songs from Super Mario Bros. and Sonic The Hedgehog. So, what are your favorite jams?

4. Know the facts?

Many video games have their own long, fictional stories and mythologies. It’s interesting how complex some are when you actually look into them. Assassin’s Creed series is a good example with all of its various timelines of alternate history. The Legend Of Zelda series has its own “Hyrule Historia” that I would enjoy owning eventually.

51jF6mPhk4L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

3. Casual Apparel

Besides perhaps the holidays, there are various shirts, accessories, and so on revolving around video games. There are some really cool ones that mostly take from the “old” times. My cousin Joey had his birthday party on Sunday and got a nice, red long shelved Minecraft shirt. Often what you wear shows off what you like, so it’s not weird to go all out. Who knows? Maybe you’ll meet someone else who enjoys the same franchises as you do. πŸ™‚

2. Getting excited for gaming conventions or announcements

Do you ever get excited for something like E3? Some of my dreams are to eventually go to California partly for E3 and go to Germany partly for Gamescon. Hearing about, or better yet watch the surprise announcements live, is so much fun! For example, when Media Molecule said that they wouldn’t be part of E3 this year (back in June), I was disappointed because they come up with great, creative games; but when I saw LittleBigPlanet 3 announced (MM let another company take over), I was shocked. I can’t wait for that game on November 18th.

1. Dreaming/Thinking About Video Games

I often fantasize about a number of franchises because it’s fun to come up with your own fan fiction and think about all the possibilities. Some companies even let you submit your ideas that may eventually become reality. Mojang often gets suggestions that it then uses in a later updates for Minecraft and those who came up with that material have their names added to the credits. Cool, right? I think I remember in a study that a gamer often dream more than the average person, which makes sense in a way.

I just typed this up for fun, so I hope that you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

4 comments on “Fun: Indicators That You’re A Gamer

  • Comments are closed.