Review: Super Smash Bros. For The Wii U

Published December 1, 2014 by Amanda B. Greene

frame_0001

Super Smash Bros. is definitely one of the best games of the year, especially for local multiplayer when you get everyone talking and taunting each other. This is one game is one of the reasons why to have a Wii U. You get all these iconic characters, like some of the biggest in the gaming world such as Mario, Sonic and Mega Man, going against one another in epic matches.

*** Rating: 9.5/10 ***

Wii-U-Super-Smash-Bros.mp4_snapshot_02.20_2014.10.23_19.12.08

Features

  • Smash! (4-8 players)

This is where you can show off your moves. Friends and family alike will love this game and so will you. It’s just chaos when you get a large group over to show them who’s boss. There are a lot of options like whether or not to have teams or limit the occurrence of items, for example.

  • Classic (1-2 players)

This mode is back with a twist. You pick your battles as well as control the difficulty. It’s interesting with the mechanics because in Brawl, you just went through random fights that were similar to each other. It’s always fun to earn trophies and to beat up the credits (see if you can hit all the names to reveal the picture in the background). 🙂

  • All-Star (1-2 players)

You go in reverse chronological order, so you have to defeat the newcomers before getting to the veterans. It’s interesting to see the time frames like how Pac-Man and Mr. Game & Watch came out 1980, if I remember right, while Mario and Donkey Kong appeared in 1981. It’s fairly challenging like Classic mode. You have a limited number of healing items with many waves of enemies, so you have to plan and take risks.

  • Events (1-2 players

There are random, often odd challenges, to take on either by yourself or with a partner. Most of them are tough, especially if you have to play as a certain character. It helps that you can make custom fighters to beef yourself up if you’re having trouble. The web-like unlock system is neat, I think.

  • Smash Tour (1-4 players)

This mode is actually more fun than I thought it was going to be. I can’t say whether or not I would have prefered “Smash Run” over Smash Tour since I don’t have the 3DS version, but I certainly appreciate Nintendo trying to add something new. It’s a board game where you run to collect a bunch of stats and characters for the final, deciding battle with multiple smaller, special fights along the way. It’s random and different every time besides the three layout maps you choose from.

  • Master/Crazy Orders (1 player)

This is an entirely new mode in the Super Smash Bros. series as well. It is difficult and risky, especially with your hard-earned coins and items on the line. I get so addicted to testing myself to see how much I can get and how far I can go. Right now, in Crazy Orders, I’ve managed to complete 10 rounds as Rosalina, but I haven’t been able to beat that record.

Gameplay

It is very solid, especially with the various controller options. I have yet to try out the Pro or GameCube controller, but I think that’s what most people prefer. Personally, I’m fine with the Wii U Gamepad or and Wii Remote + Nunchuk. I haven’t tried using the using Wii Remote sideways, but with the lack of buttons, it would probably be uncomfortable and difficult to try out.

There are no glitches, at least for me. My only concern is how I’m currently unable to go online, but that is mostly likely my poor internet connection. Everything runs well otherwise.

maxresdefault

Music

The music is amazing as always with an impressive collection. There are so many musicians and composers that came together to make such a large list. Some remixes are included to spice things up. I can’t tell you how fun it is to listen to your favorites; sometimes, I just have the tracks playing as I’m drawing for inspiration.

Other Things…

Like I’ve talked about before, the missing Story mode is the biggest disappointment to me for it was entertaining in Brawl. I used to play co-op with my brother to collect trophies and go through cutscenes. It was flawed, but it was still fun.

The new product line called Amiibos, similar to the figurines of Skylanders and Disney Infinity, have some functionality for this game. Even though their value is still questionable, I couldn’t help but buy one of Link. You can fight or team up with them as they train and upgrade up to Level 50.

Wrap-Up

Super Smash Bros. for the Wii U is one of the best games of 2014. You’re sure to enjoy a number of fighters since there are over forty to choose from. Plus, there is bound to be at least one controller option you’ll be good with. It followed through with all the hype it got from all the fans out there – Nintendo pulled it off once again. 😀

