Special: Great Pairings

Published December 1, 2014 by Amanda B. Greene

Tribes-Sky

Inspired by Super Smash Bros., I’ve been thinking about different pairings that would really make things interesting. I’ve even gone beyond thinking about if Sony’s All-Star Battle Royale and Nintendo’s SSB were to collide or something else similar where characters all came together as the two universes touched. But for this post, I’m just going to talk about franchises more within their boundaries, so it’s somewhat more realistic.

e3-2014-super-smash-bros-link-and-pit-anime-fight-12

  • The Legend Of Zelda & Kid Icarus

This is one I mentioned already within my “First Impressions” of SSB4, but it’s something I want to talk more about and why it would mostly make sense. Both franchises have similar fictions with gods and goddesses as well as the powers of good and evil. Pit and Link have a variety of weapons and tools. It would be interesting if Nintendo brought out more of Link’s personality and actually had him talk when meeting with different characters. I could definitely see Zelda show her various personalities around Palutena, for example.

20140714140332!Xenoblade-Landscape fe-anim2

  • Fire Emblem & Xenoblade Chronicles

While this pair would struggle with combining gameplay mechanics, I could see the idea work. It would be cool if you got to see more of the world like you can in Xenoblade Chronicles and then get to have the cel-shaded artstyle of the recent Fire Emblem Awakening. Plus, they both incorporate legendary or powerful weapons like the Monado and the Falchion. The stories in both of the series are great too, so you can reasonably expect them being a good combo.

psvita-game-6467-ss21

  • Tearaway & LittleBigPlanet

I’ve never played Tearaway, but the look and feel of it are creativity in the making and I would like to try it out sometime. LittleBigPlanet is also a masterpiece, one after the other, involving similar arts and crafts to come up with amazing levels. Combining origami with other materials like cloth is something that could be done. Media Molecule is a wonderful studio that has a lot to do with imagination.

Super_Mario_Bros_1985 MD_Sonic_the_Hedgehog

  •  Mario & Sonic

I’m not talking about the Olympics. I’m looking at a big platformer involving Nintendo’s and Sega’s old, rivaling mascots. This will probably never happen, but you never know. Sonic has been struggling, mostly since he went into 3D instead of 2D platforming. Mario, on the other hand, continues to be solid with his classical charm. One thing that I think Sega does right is trying to develop interesting and detailed stories with Sonic and his friends, even though they’re not in the best quality. What they would come up with together would be unpredictable.

tomb-raider-wallpaper

  • Uncharted & Tomb Raider

Two treasure hunters and survivalists, Nathan Drake and Lara Croft, would be an interesting duo. They both involve a lot of action, adventure, drama, as well as exploration… = *mind exploding* fun. I know a fair amount about Tomb Raider, but again, I have yet to play one of its games. As far as gameplay and style, there wouldn’t be any colliding issues. Nothing can go wrong when anyone teams up with Naughty Dog. 🙂

uncharted-2-among-thieves

That is all of my ideas that I can think of at the moment off the top of my head, but I got plenty of others. Do you have any sort of fantasies of some of you favorite franchises or characters coming together? I’m curious to hear about what people dream up with video games, so please comment below. I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and a good Monday so far. 😉

2 comments on “Special: Great Pairings

  • Comments are closed.