Review: Sly Cooper: Thieves In Time

Published February 18, 2015 by Amanda B. Greene

Sly-Cooper-Thieves-in-Time-wallpaper

Sly Cooper: Thieves In Time is a great game by Sanzaru Games that was released on February 5th, 2013. A little while ago, I was able to pick it up and play it. It took me awhile to get around to it, what with college and other things, but I just recently beat it. I first replayed the Sly Cooper Collection so I could compare them back to back. Sunker Punch chose the right guys to make Sly 4.

* Rating *

9.0/10

Story

I mostly enjoyed the story. It felt like to stuck true to the characters and developed them a bit more, especially Sly. It was so cool to meet some of Cooper’s ancestors, wish I could’ve seen more of them. I’m a geek for this series, so I thought that was a neat experience.

I only really have two complaints to make, but they’re more like suggestions for a sequel (you can’t leave with that kind of cliffhanger!). One, the main enemy, La Paradox, was okay but not the best nemesis of the Cooper Gang; he wasn’t as clever or as scary as say Clockwork. And two, while the game is fairly long, it felt short mostly due to the story pacing; don’t be afraid to slow down somewhat and build up more details!

m_slycoopertit_review

Gameplay

The gameplay is mostly flawless, I think. It certainly feels and is different from the previous games of the series, but I grew accustomed to it. The controls didn’t change too much, but as for how the characters “interact” with the world is changed. It’s hard to explain. How you land on a wire, for example, is less “loose” and more precise, which is a good and bad thing.

Most of the boss battles improved in difficulty, which is a welcome sight to see. Some of them reminded me of one of my favorite fights back in the first game, Thievius Raccoonus, with Ms. Ruby.

The collectibles, some old and some new, come back. They bring more replayability as they unlock costumes, minigames, and more. I still have yet to collect them all, something I want to accomplish.

Music

The music, like the main theme song, is all good. They all went well with each of the environments or places you go to. None of the tunes felt off from what the series is generally known for, but at the same time it sets itself apart.

Final Note

If you’re a Sly Cooper fan, this is a game for you! Even if you’re new to the series, Thieves In Time is a good place to start as it will give you the option to hear the whole (well most of the) story of the Cooper Gang. It is certainly a worthwhile adventure and I can’t wait for a sequel (hopefully there’ll be one).

 sly-cooper-1307570786

