Review: Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate

Published March 27, 2015 by Amanda B. Greene

Monster-Hunter-4-Ultimate-Wallpaper

Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate is the first Monster Hunter game I’ve played and I’m really enjoying it. I still have a long ways to go on all the quests, and I would to get the chance to play multiplayer with someone sometime if I can ever get a better internet connection. Anyways, like I’ve said before, there is a high learning curve with everything, but after a while you’ll get the hang of it for the most part.

* Rating *

8.5/10

maxresdefault

 Story

There is not much in terms of story, it mainly serves as bridges to new places and monsters to kill. Most of the cutscenes are cool though when you encounter beasts and start travelling. The characters are okay, but don’t have much personality to them; although the palicos can be funny at times.

Gameplay

You got the main story and then you got other side quests to increase your hunter rank. You can locally or online with others to help each other out on challenging missions. I personally haven’t been able to play with anyone due to my poor internet connection, but from what I heard it’s fun to tag team.

Just like any RPG, you got your hunting, fetching, collecting, and exploration jobs to do. One day you may have to carry eggs back to the base and another you may have to slay a Giant Jaggi. Most of them are exciting to do, but sometimes they get tedious, especially when the target keeps fleeing or you drop your egg and have to start over.

maxresdefault (1)

Depending on which baddy you’re going after, you need to refresh your strategy. You can’t just charge in like Kratos nor can you just sit back with your bow every time, you need to be smart. Whenever there is jumpable ledge next to the target, for example, pounce on him each chance you get to start stabbing his back. This does a lot of damage and give you an open window to attack or reload/sharpen your weapon. Another tip is certain meals you eat before head out can give you different buffs depending on the ingredients and how it is prepared, so don’t skip out on those! Items help you in a pinch too.

I enjoy the many different options for classes and customization. So far, I think my favorites are the Heavy Bowman and Dual Blades classes. As for the customization, there is a lot to choose from when it comes to creating new armor and weapons. Then of course you can upgrade later on if you choose to.

The controls work for me on my old Nintendo 3DS, but I’ve heard that the C-Stick for the New Nintendo 3DS XL is great for looking around versus having to rely on the lock-on feature most of time otherwise.

Music

The music throughout the game is good and fits well for each situation. The one for the battles is the best of course. Gotta have something to pump you up during the fight after all. There is not much to say other than that really. The palicos do look and sound cute!

Final Note

Like I’ve said before, Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate has a learning curve, but don’t let that discourage you. This is the first game of the series I’ve played and I enjoy it. I was able to jump right into it without any problems really. This is the best time to become a hunter. It’s a cool third-party role-playing game to add to your 3DS library.

3 comments on “Review: Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate

  • I can’t see a game called Monster Hunter having anything resembling a plot. It’s good to see that the combat part is varied and challenged though. If this was just boring hacking and slashing then, well, we already have Diablo

  • Comments are closed.