First Impressions: The Wonderful 101

Published September 23, 2015 by Amanda B. Greene

logo

I’m sorry that this took so long to post, I haven’t been able to get into The Wonderful 101. My first impressions are not so good. I played for a few hours or so, but stopped for a while. I didn’t get very far in the story – mainly due to my frustration with the controls. The humor is okay though, the jokes got a few laughs out of me here and there. I’ll eventually dive into it more, but it’s just not appealing to me. It only makes me want to play Bayonetta (also made by Platinum Games) more with its perfect polish.

Not everything is bad about it… like I make it seem. It’s just has a steep learning curve with the controls and the camera angles/lack of zoom don’t help at all. I like the funny premise of typical, old superheroes, reminding me of The Incredibles in a way. To read more…

Beginning of the Story (Minor Spoilers)

It all begins with Wonder Red, the main character, saving a bunch of kids from a bus tram that’s about to crash into a nearby school. Soon after that, you get introduced to others like Wonder Blue who is full of himself with his giant sword. You, as Wonder Red, are then called upon to lead the group against alien invaders and that’s where the action begins.

There are many tutorials…

Gameplay

It’s a somewhat top-down platformer and fighting game. The controls are simple enough, despite some frustration with using the special powers each hero has. It’s hard to see everything that’s going on and to navigate the world at times.

Some of the aliens require you to think a little about how to defeat them, which I can appreciate, but again, I wish the camera worked better.

Music

The background music and the sound effects/dialogue are all okay, not necessarily bad or good overall. It all fits the theme of cheesy superheroes fighting to save the day, even adding a narrator who talks through a lot of things.

Final Note

I know this took a long time to publish, about a few months I think, so again I apologize for that. I just haven’t been able to get into the game, and I’ve been busy. I’ll still do a review eventually, but other games will grab my attention here and there in the meantime.

The Wonderful 101 is certainly not for everyone, for it can be difficult to play at times for the wrong reasons. I’m glad I didn’t pay anything for this (got it off Club Nintendo), but I don’t regret giving it a try. I’ll push through to the end so I can properly assess the whole game. Thank you for reading.

One comment on “First Impressions: The Wonderful 101

Comments are closed.