Review: Breath of the Wild

Published March 18, 2017 by Amanda B. Greene

the_legend_of_zelda_breath_of_the_wild_new_header_finally

Breath of the Wild is the latest game in The Legend of Zelda series that was released on March 3rd. It largely breaks from traditions as it is an open world experience that everyone should play. I’ve played it to its conclusion, but this won’t contain any spoilers. Let’s wake up and get started!

** Review: 10/10 **

zelda_breath_play

Story

Breath of the Wild is more about exploration than storytelling, but it is still great at par if not better than previous games. The emotions are conveyed strongly in the writing, but the voice acting for some scenes could’ve been better. All the voices overall are good though. There is a lot of action, as well as iconic and heartfelt moments. These are my general thoughts without going into too much detail.

Link is given more character and backstory than usual. He is still a silent protagonist, but his facial and body expressions make do well enough. However, I wish Nintendo will give him a voice in the future. I was surprised by how they got me so attached to him and his story. He was already one of my favorite characters, but this version may be the best one.

The only problem I have with it is that I wish they would have dived more into the stories of five main characters who didn’t have much of a spotlight. They are each very interesting in their own ways.

Gameplay

There are many different things you can do and you may not find everything on your first play-through – the world is that huge. I’ll summarize all the things you can do in Breath of the Wild:

Shrines and dungeons vary from puzzle to combat based, all of which are mostly challenging and well designed. The difficulty increased, making for greater battles with both common enemies and bosses. Notably Guardians, especially early on, are terrifying how they can kill you easily in one shot; even in late-game, they’re still tough to beat.

zelda_3

As you explore, you’ll discover a lot of cool places like cities, ruins, and horse stables scattered across Hyrule. Towers help out by revealing parts of each region and giving you a good vantage point to fly and look around. Tons of Koroks cleverly hide, so you have to seek them out to collect seeds that’ll be useful later on. Cooking is how you mainly heal yourself and experimenting with ingredients to create the best dishes is more fun than I thought it would be. You can travel in various ways like on horseback, all of which are enjoyable.

You can choose to do whatever you want when it comes to the many main and sidequests. Technically, Link can fight Ganon as soon as you leave the Great Plateau, but it’d probably be too difficult right off the bat. I liked most of them a lot, though there were some that I felt indifferent about like a few fetch quests.

Music

Unlike previous Zelda games, there is not much music in favor of nature sounds, which isn’t a bad thing in my opinion. I liked to hear the birds and other animals and so on. There are some soundtracks thrown in throughout the journey that are great and nostalgic for long-time fans. I think my favorite is probably the one for Hyrule Castle, building a certain atmosphere as you fight to reach the climax.

Final Note

I highly recommend Breath of the Wild. It’s nearly perfect, making it one of the best games ever in my book. I would be focused on fulfilling a certain task or goal, only to become sidetracked into something else in the beautiful scenery – you can get lost wondering in the wild (in a good way).

I play it on the Wii U and even though it is technically inferior to the Switch version, I had little to no problems with the frame rate or graphics. Content wise, there is nothing left out or different between the two.

Thanks for reading and have a nice day! Sorry for my long absence!

zeldagallery

3 comments on “Review: Breath of the Wild

  • Great post and great review. I’m about 70+ hours into the game now and I just don’t want to stop. I’ve collected all the memories and finished all the dungeons, but I don’t want to face Ganon because then the story will be over 😦

    • Thank you! I’ve been playing a lot of it too, but I haven’t checked the playlog to see how many hours I have into Breath of the Wild. Even after defeating Ganon, you can still play the same save file afterwards to finish the rest of the sidequests, shrines, and so on. I’m still working on all that. 😉

      • 110+ hours since my last message now. I raided Hyrule Castle last night to farm for materials and teleported out right before getting to Ganon. I know I’m far too OP at this point, but I find a bit of a satisfaction in forming a narrative of having the fallen hero come back stronger than ever and whoop Ganon around like it’s nothing 😛 I know I can come back to the game afterwards and finish the sidequests, but with so many more games on my to play list, I’ll have to take a break once Zelda is saved.

        That said, would you like to share your articles in our FB group? We’re a growing community of gaming bloggers and we’d be thrilled to have more writers share and discuss their work. Just search for “Game Bloggers United” on Facebook 😀

  • Comments are closed.